Category Archives: SOMA- Folsom District

Mission Dolores Armory Tour via Mission Creek

This tour is a study in urban contrasts and an easy walk through the formerly semi-rural landscape of The Mission lands, along the banks of a former creek and vanished lake.

We will begin at the Golden Fire Hydrant and make our way through Dolores Park, which originally was a Jewish cemetery and now may be packed with hipsters, gay men, Latin American immigrants, dogs and their owners and well-to do families with strollers and children.  We’ll head to the Mission Francisco De Asis, commonly known as The Mission Dolores. We will see the Mission Dolores Basilica which was dedicated by the Pope Pious in 1951. In 1984, while protestors chanted, Pope John Paul ll caused a scandal by hugging a child with AIDS. We will tour the Mission which is the oldest building in San Francisco,the original building was completedin 1776, several weeks before the Declaration Of Independence was signed. There is a small museum on site displaying artifacts from the decimated native population, a native garden and a graveyard filled with tombstones of mainly Irish immigrants is open to the public. Some 5000 Oholone were buried here as well. Admission to the Mission is incuded on this tour.

Mission Creek to the Armory

Missión San Francisco de Asís was originally built close to the banks of a creek that the Spanish called, Arroyo de Nuestra Señora de los Dolores, meaning “Our Lady of Sorrows Creek. The creek, now referred to as Mission Creek, in later years was buried under the city streets and acted as somewhat of a sewer system. We will roughly follow the path of the missing creek and will walk along the shores of a long lost lagoon, which appears on historic maps now as Lake Dolores.

We then will venture into the frenetic area of 16th and Valencia Streets and have a bite to eat at one of the areas many hip restaurants. Meal is included.

The creek continues toward the bay and eventually flows through the cavernous basement of the SF Armory. The Armory, built in 1914, is 200.000 square feet of Moorish castle in the heart of the Mission District. Built for the National Guard, it’s biggest claim to fame is that it was used to quell the depression era Lonshoreman riots and protected the troops from the strikers who were widely regarded as Communist insurgents. We too shall head towards the bay and will enter the Armory but will enter up the grand staircase through the front doors. You will be welcomed by the charming staff of and will be given an unprecedented tour of the studios and production areas of Kink. The tour will not be conducted during operating hours.

We believe that you will find this tour as fascinating as we do and an unforgettable way to pass an afternoon. Please join us on this delightful journey. This tour sells our incredibly fast as does any tour that includes the Armory. Please book early and of course, this tour is only for adults.

A day in the park...

A day in the park... (Photo credit: Wikipedia)We believe that you will find this tour fascinating and an

Adults only


Reservations Line: 800.595.4849 (24hrs)

Reservations Online:

More Information: 415.793.1104





via Mission Dolores Armory Tour.

Enhanced by Zemanta